And They're Off! Kentucky Derby is Here at Last

PetMD Editorial
Updated: February 28, 2011
Published: April 30, 2009
Share this:

This year the race takes place on May 2, 2009. The Derby's website has named I Want Revenge, Dunkirk, Pioneerof the Nile (sic), and Friesan Fire as the favorite contenders for this year's race.

Here are the names of the last ten winners of the Kentucky Derby and their jockeys:

   1. Big Brown (Kent Desormeaux)
   2. Street Sense (Calvin Borel)
   3. Barbaro (Edgar Prado)
   4. Giacomo (Mike Smith)
   5. Smarty Jones (Stewart Elliot)
   6. Funny Cide (Jose Santos)
   7. War Emblem (Victor Espinoza)
   8. Monarchos (Jorge Chavez)
   9. Fusaichi Pegasus (Kent Desormeaux)
  10. Charismatic (Chris Antley)